30 Days…

30 Days!

I have just 30 days to wrap my head around the fact that my knee can’t be fixed anymore. There are no more quick fixes or things to try to hold me over until the next quick fix comes along, we have tried them all. On July 12th I will be admitted into the hospital for knee replacement surgery. On July 12th in an OR somewhere they will remove my knee, put it in the garbage and put in a titanium one. I will go in whole and come out with a 10″ incision down the front of my leg held together with 40 staples. 40!!!!!!!!! STAPLES!!!!!!! This makes me very nervous.

I know I can do this! I’ve heard it can take up to a full year to recover from this surgery. Lots of hard work and patience and determination and I’m sure i’ll make it through just fine.

At the surgeon’s clinic he took xrays and discovered that my medial (inside) part of my knee is officially bone on bone. There is no gap left there.. It’s bad. I had some fluid drained off of it (AGAIN) and it made it feel a little more flexible. The more fluid on my knee the more the bend is restricted. Because my surgery is so close he couldn’t give me a cortisone shot.. I think if I wasn’t already married to an amazing man, I’m marry cortisone. It’s incredible. I can go into his office on crutches and skip out of there after a cortisone shot. It makes my skin nice and my hair and nails grow long and strong… It’s awesome. But this time, no dice. Apparently it affects something to do with surgery… so that’s out. ahhhh crap.. it would have been awesome if we could have just kept it juiced until surgery.. no pain days are GREAT days, but let me tell you, I can’t remember the last one.

Every morning I hit my alarm and lay there for a minute, my body still somewhat asleep, and my knee is mostly painless.. maybe just stiff and a little sore but nothing compared to when my feet hit that floor and I have to get up. That’s when the pain starts and it doesn’t stop until long after I fall asleep… I’m tired. I’m tired of being in pain.. my knee is huge.. HUGE!!!!!! I’ve nicknamed her Big Bertha…

img_8630Here she is in all her glory. No matter how many hours i ice and elevate it doesn’t get any smaller, EVER! Big Bertha the right knee. She is a wicked bitch and I can’t wait until she is gone for good. The road to recovery will be long and hard, but everyday will get a little better. I’m hoping once this surgery is done, I’m on here telling you guys that I should have had her replaced years ago.

 

So July 12th…. D day.

Until next time friends.

xo

Leave a Reply

